Thursday, May 20, 2010

Cristian Guzman's triple play

If this blog has any life left at all, we must note that Cristian Guzman hit into a triple play last night (see it here). Of course, the blame lies mostly with the overeager baserunners, and perhaps a little with the umpires (who initially did not clearly rule that the ball was caught), but still.

ESPN's news crawl noted that he hit into an "inning-ending triple play." You heard it here first: If there's ever a triple play that does not end an inning, I'll open an empanada restaurant. (I'll keep some recipes handy, because any Missouri football fan knows that the rules don't always work.)